Camron's Newsletter
Camron's Newsletter Podcast
The Unseen
0:00
-1:09

The Unseen

Lights down low,

She turns away, a planetary distance between us.

Leaves crumbling under my feet

A tree says to me “climb aboard”

Stunned, looking around,

An owl, the bell buoy of the dark, confirms what I heard.

I follow the sound

It wasn’t exactly sound.

It was bites of nourishment, a vibration. 

And I felt hunger.

I walk across a pond on a half submerged log.

Barefoot under the stars,

Balancing on this log,

The owl calls again and draws me forward,

To the other side.

I climb a maple tree at the edge of the pond.

The maple passes me to a beech tree, 

as if an ancient burial ritual.

The last tree, an oak, lowers me to a wooden chair.

An unknown force pushes the chair to a table.

A pencil rests on the table. My hand greets the pencil.

And this is where I am now, writing to you, the unseen.

Camron's Newsletter is a reader-supported publication. If you aren’t already a subscriber, please consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

Leave a comment

Discussion about this podcast

Camron's Newsletter
Camron's Newsletter Podcast
A creative misfit who writes about experiential learning, horses and mushrooms.